A Song for Europe

Come Together, right now

Come Together, right now

I’m seriously hoping that some sense prevails and that we can pull back from economic oblivion and a sleepwalk into intolerance after our knife edge decision to leave the EU last Thursday. In the meantime, rather than looking to politicians who have almost universally lied to us, I thought we might seek wisdom and solace from some music and musicians:

Hotel California – The Eagles – adequately describes Article 50 !

“You can check-out any time you like
But you can never leave”

Ball of Confusion – The Temptations – adequately describes the VUCA world we have entered:

“People moving out, people moving in. Why, because of the color of their skin
Run, run, run but you sure can’t hide. An eye for an eye, a tooth for a tooth
Vote for me and I’ll set you free. Rap on, brother, rap on
Well, the only person talking about love thy brother is the … preacher
And it seems nobody’s interested in learning but the … teacher.
Segregation, determination, demonstration, integration, Aggravation, humiliation, obligation to our nation
Ball of confusion. Oh yeah, that’s what the world is today. Woo, hey, hey”

The National Front Disco – Morrissey – perhaps sums up the 50% rise in hate and race related crime in the wake of our departure from the EU. Although many Brexit voters are thoughtful and moderate people, a small group have had their racist views legitimised by the Leave vote:

“Because again and again you’ve explained
You’re going to the National
To the National
To the National Front disco
Because you want the day to come sooner
You want the day to come sooner
You want the day to come sooner
When you’ve settled the score”

Anarchy in the UK – The Sex Pistols – It seems to be the way we’re headed if we continue down the road of leaving the EU:

“Is this the M.P.L.A?
Or is this the U.D.A?
Or is this the I.R.A?
I thought it was the UK”

Dreamer – Prince – Nobody does anti-racism like Prince, God rest his soul

“Eye was born & raised on the same plantation
In the united states of the red, white and blue
Eye never knew that eye was different
Til dr. king was on the balcony
Lying in a bloody pool
Expected so much more from a loving society

A truthful xplanation but you know what?
Eye got another conspiracy

If it was just a dream… call me
Call me a dreamer 2″

Living for the City – Stevie Wonder – With companies considering relocation of their HQ to EU countries, we may well find that the low wage economy becomes the norm in the UK:

“His father works some days for fourteen hours
And you can bet he barely makes a dollar
His mother goes to scrub the floor for many
And you’d best believe she hardly gets a penny”

Paranoid – Black Sabbath – Courtesy of Darren Johnson, who wrote the previous blog entry Rock Against Brexit we have some good old words of wisdom from Ozzy Osbourne:

“Finished with my woman ’cause she couldn’t help me with my mind
People think I’m insane because I am frowning all the time
All day long I think of things but nothing seems to satisfy
Think I’ll lose my mind if I don’t find something to pacify”

Baby can I hold you – Tracey Chapman – Finally, Tracey Chapman expresses the spirit of Bregret:

Sorry, Is all you can say

I’m personally not for sitting on my arse and watching this demise whilst playing records. With so many people now expressing “Bregret” I will continue to push UK Government to reconsider the marginal leave vote (51.9% leave, 48.1% remain, 30% non voters and a high proportion of young people who did not manage to register). A quick scan of the local area last night shows the degree of confusion that still surrounds the issue …

Ball of Confusion

Ball of Confusion

Read our other posts on the EU :

Should I Stay Or Should I Go?

Rock Against Brexit

***************************

Peter Cook leads Human Dynamics and The Academy of Rock.

Check his new book “Leading Innovation, Creativity and Enterprise” out.

Available in Europe without additional taxes for the next month or so …

 

 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.