Waiting for the great leap forwards

Art, Empire and Industry - Rowena Sian Morgan on the photoshoot for the cover of The Music of Business

Art, Empire and Industry – Rowena Sian Morgan of BASCA on the photoshoot for the cover of The Music of Business – just before we were asked to leave the scene by security guards …

We stand just 72 hours away from the launch of my new book “The Music of Business”. The book is available to buy at AMAZON. Signed copies directly from the book WEBPAGE. On 31 1 13, the book will be on special offer for the day.

To preview the book, this week I’m taking a break from my regular blogging content. Instead I’ve just selected some cool videos from some of the artists who feature in the book.  Normal service will be resumed soon and I will stop being over excited! 🙂

Gaga controls the music business and is Queen of Social Media marketing.

I grew up on the Beatles, having blown my ear drums out screaming to Twist and Shout when I was 5 years old with an orange plastic Beatles guitar.  This was the beginning of my 1st love and perhaps was the 1st inspiration for the book, swiftly followed by Jimi Hendrix.

AC / DC are a miracle in making a ‘formula’ work over nearly 40 years.  Most of us have to flex and bend in order to stay alive.

Madonna is a reinvention guru.  What made her that way?  Read all about it in The Music of Business.

The best day of 2012 was the moment when I performed on stage with Bernie Tormé.  Can business be this fun?  Yes it can!  We offer 24 hour strategy retreats that synthesise business excellence with the power of music.

 

Scott McGill – a virtuoso jazz fusion musician and teacher gives valuable lessons in ‘musical escapology’ with important parallels for business creativity.

Richard Strange – Quoted as “The Godfather of Punk” by Johnny Rotten explores the dark side of creativity and innovation.  If you are in London and wish to meet up, I often attend Richard’s alternative mixed media event Cabaret Futura.

Bill Nelson offers us lessons in principled leadership and reinvention in The Music of Business.  Check this music master’s work out at Bill Nelson.

Ch, ch, ch, changes from the Thin White Duke, who has shape shifted many times over 40 years, keeping his audience.  His latest work sees him turn full circle back to a reflective style that won him fans 40 years ago, but with a post-modern edge to it.

And of course, the title of this blog from the Bard of Barking – what a great wordsmith:

Hoping your week rocks!  Please spread the word about the book launch on 31 1 13 on social media, e-mail, carrier pigeon and any other mode of communication.  Thank you for all your encouragement and supports, which have been pivotal in completing this project.

7 responses to “Waiting for the great leap forwards

  1. Well – what a great set of music. Good luck for the launch Peter! I can’t imagine that old fashioned publishers will not be going the way of HMV and Blockbuster, unless they can reinvent themselves like Gaga , Bowie and Madonna. They need to up their ante on marketing and promotion, not editing and typeface.

    Like

  2. This thread from Linkedin:

    John Hughes • There are at least two strands to your questions: one’s interaction with music in terms of “work, rest and play” and mergers between business and the arts.
    I respond to music constantly in different scenarios. Sometimes I seek out a specific piece of music (CD, TV, concert) because my experience tells me that I will enjoy it. I don’t like music as a supplement to something else, so, if I’m working not only will it be distracting but it’s unfair to the artist to use their music as musak.
    Regarding the merger between the arts and business, where sponsorship is necessary to maintain an orchestra, a theatre etc I see no issue provided there is no interference with the artists, writer, directors etc.
    Where the arts are created for the benefit of business (the pop industry is the best example of this) there is almost always a diminution of the artists’ input, a “dumbing down” if you like.

    Peter Cook MBA MRSC C Chem • Odd Question John :

    I don’t like music as a supplement to something else, so, if I’m working not only will it be distracting but it’s unfair to the artist to use their music as musak.

    Are you musical?

    Many people who say such things are musical and are unable to see music as “aural wallpaper”

    I am unusual in so far as I revised for exams listening to Hendrix, but on other occasions cannot separate myself from music.

    Peter

    John Hughes • I have a broad taste in music: rock, folk, jazz, blues in the main. I’m off to a Calexico gig next month for example.
    I prefer to engage directly with whatever music I’m listening too rather than use it as wallpaper. Hendrix would definitely distract me from any form of learning!
    I don’t play any instruments other than guitar strumming but have asked for an electric piano for my 70th and will pick up where I left off at 14!
    It’s a personal choice of course.

    Peter Cook MBA MRSC C Chem • Indeed, there’s the rub of music – it’s all personal. I have moments of total focus and others of “grazing” – we are all different – that’s what makes music wonderful and frustrating in the same moment ?

    John Hughes • I use Spotify for “grazing” of course, especially when something I hear stops me in my tracks. It happened with the Dave Matthews Band as one example amongst many. I first heard Dylan in a BBC play in 1962 in which he played a folk singer. I rushed to the record shop the next day and asked if they had anything. They hadn’t but ordered his first album for me and I wore it out! Sometimes “grazing” turns to serious listening.

    David Cotton • I have earworms. From the moment I get up in the morning to the moment I go to sleep, and sometimes in my sleep, I hear tunes. I can’t separate music from anything else in my life because I am never without a tune for a second. I walk to a rhythm and when I am delivering training, there is rhythm in my speech patterns, because there is a musical soundtrack underlying it. I used to play music professionally, and could be playing bebop bass one day, bluegrass banjo another and classical mandolin another, so the type of music is pretty much immaterial. Currently I am trying to rid myself of “Somewhere over the rainbow” – I have just demonstrated about 25 stringed instruments to a class of 9 year-olds and I happened to play this tune on a baritone ukulele – and now I can;’t get it out of my head. I’m probably even typing in time with it. Don’t dare sing “It’s a small, small world to me” or I may have to do something violent….

    Thinking about the merger of art and business, I have often used music in training (my day job), art in training, actors and drama in training. Music, like other arts, enhances, reflects, comments on and enriches life and I see it as a very natural thing to bring into the training room.

    I probably haven’t offered anything of great use here, but at least I’m now hearing David Grisman’s “Dawgma” in my head – a much nicer tune. So thanks for listening…!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.